Dance in Film

I know I’ve mentioned this before but dance is a driving force and major influence in my everyday life. Seeing dance performed, hearing music with a beat that inspires me, discovering new artists, all these elements motivate me daily and give me such energy and passion. I strongly believe in the constant need for dance to be promoted, there is still a stigma and perceived elitist persona surrounding dance that deters so many from embracing or simply enjoying this art form fully.
I want people to feel free to dance spontaneously without fear of criticism. I want there to be no discrimination regarding who can and cannot attend dance classes. I want everyone to see how diverse and exciting the world of dance is. It is total freedom, to dance. It is a physical way to express everything and anything, especially those things we bottle up and can’t face. You would be surprised what the right music and a setting that allows you to move in a rhythm all your own will do for your disposition and attitude. Sometimes I find myself humming and adding a skip to my step when my mind is occupied and I am walking along. If my mood dictates a need for some release or encouragement, for me nothing works as well as twirling an umbrella and whistling as I walk.
In my opinion the simplest and most enjoyable way to begin a journey towards dance addiction is through film. Dance in cinema has as long a history as the genre itself. Whether its is a classic jazz film or a more recent hip hop movie, dance in film adds life and electricity, every genre is covered and every emotion captured. Finding something to suit you is only a matter of looking. Here are some of my favorites that never cease to amaze and inspire me, every time spurring a smile to creep upon my face and a beat to take over my body causing uncontrollable foot tapping and instant bliss. A tiny taster really but hopefully it might prompt further investigation and discovery of some favorites of your own.

(I am a little skewed towards the oldies but that’s just me and really they deserve to appreciated. Also I have very seriously resisted the urge to add an endless amount of videos, once I start looking I am instantly captivated and lost in old movie paradise, honestly I think I ended up on YouTube for an undeterminable amount of time putting this post together, hypnotized completely)

Follow the Fleet, 1936, Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers

Step Up Revolution, 2012

On an Island with you, 1948, Ricardo Montalban and Cyd Charisse.

Singing in the Rain, 1952, Gene Kelly and Donald O’Connor

Chicago, 2002

Leave a Reply

