How d’ya like your eggs in the morning?

 

On a sunny spring day, when the there no urgency to be seen and an air of ease about the beginning of the day, I like to make a meal to match. After arising slightly later than usual a typical breakfast is a bit light for the hour at hand. This recipe I find to be a real pleaser as I generally make it tailored for sharing and I’ve never met anyone who doesn’t like having breakfast prepared for them. Its quick and hearty, uses leftovers and has a rustic, haphazard result that means my mood of relaxation isn’t interfered with by elaborate presentation. I simply pile all together, take the plate and cutlery outside with good coffee for two and sit under the sun saying hello to the day.

1184781_728215037202954_93328386_n

I fry in olive oil an onion until crisp and golden, add cubed leftover baby potatoes, heating them through and adding a little colour to them. Meanwhile beside this pan I poach as many eggs as is desired, this can range drastically depending on who is eating. When the contents of both pans are cooked to satisfaction I fill a plate with the onion and potato mix, tear over chunks of nice bread, season, top with the eggs and scatter with chopped nuts. That is it, for me it is the type of meal that suits those in-between times of the day. There is something so satisfying to me about a messy plate of well flavoured carbohydrates topped with a soft set egg. Delicious.

How do you like your eggs in the morning?

Leave a Reply

